Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
skiumah  
#1 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 3:15:18 AM(UTC)
skiumah

I'm new to tying and so far have only tied pink squirrels. Anyone have any recommendations for some easy to tie flies that will catch fish?
Sponsor
Pete  
#2 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 3:48:50 AM(UTC)
Pete

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 18 post(s)
I’d suggest the San Juan worm and the Teeny nymph. They don’t get any easier than those two and they’ll catch fish too. You’ll be learning thread control and managing materials, as well as knots. You can easily move on to more complex patterns from there.
William Schlafer  
#3 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 4:11:22 AM(UTC)
William Schlafer

Was thanked: 190 time(s) in 148 post(s)
Woolly Buggers. Simple to tie and effective in most conditions. Search YouTube for fly tying videos. You can learn a lot from just watching those.

-Bill
“You'll never look back on your life and wish you had spent more time in the office." -- Brian Trautman, Captain SV Delos
weiliwen  
#4 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 1:46:20 PM(UTC)
weiliwen

Man
United States
Location: Madison, Wisconsin during the week and Lincolnshire, Illinois on weekends.

Was thanked: 45 time(s) in 39 post(s)
Pheasant tails and gold ribbed hare's ears are also easy to tie, and very effective. I tie a hare's ear flymph that's not much more than a regular hare's ear with a soft hackle collar that works great fished in the surface film.
Bob Williams, "Weiliwen"
fifly333  
#5 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 2:08:12 PM(UTC)
fifly333

Man

Tying the hippy Stomper is pretty easy. There is a few variations of it that is easy. Good luck on your tying.
WI-fly  
#6 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 2:24:55 PM(UTC)
WI-fly

Man

Was thanked: 31 time(s) in 23 post(s)