Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages123>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
big_river_bum  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 2, 2016 6:17:25 PM(UTC)
big_river_bum

Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 14 post(s)
I've been using a Fishpond chest/lumbar pack for a few years and I like it, but sometimes its just a little too small.

I almost pulled the trigger on the Umpqua Toketee Vest. Cabela's has it on sale at 70 bucks down from 170.

http://www.cabelas.com/c...ac1084522402efef5e7075bf

Then I saw this sling pack for sale that facebook so "generously" recommended to me.

http://www.backcountry.c...8-11e5-9a09-005056947d48

now I'm unable to make a decision.

WHICH one would you use and WHY?

I fish 2 to 3 days a weeks. Sometimes just short trips, but often half day long wades. Plenty of bushwhacking. The current fishpond pack I have now is perfect for short jaunts on streams like timber coulee. I need something better geared toward mile plus trips
Sponsor
MNFishhunter  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 2, 2016 6:24:12 PM(UTC)
MNFishhunter

Stick with the vest or a pack. I have a Patagonia sling, and It keeps sliding around. I like waterproof packs, my $0.02.
EddieRivard  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 2, 2016 6:29:48 PM(UTC)
EddieRivard

Was thanked: 20 time(s) in 13 post(s)
Stop messing around with plastic vests and slings that will go out of style two years from now and go with a classic that will only look more bad ass year after year after year after year. Someday your grandson will be wearing this vest after you gave it a lifetime of experience. I've had mine for a few years and love it more and more every day. Yes the price is a little steep but so is buying a new plastic vest/pack every three years when a zipper breaks or cheap fabric gets torn.

UserPostedImage
lightningo2  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 2, 2016 7:36:37 PM(UTC)
lightningo2

Man