Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Log In | Register

Streams near Ontario, WI Options
tmhoff
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2016 12:59:28 AM

Hey all,

New member on the forum here, and also new to the world of trout fly fishing! While I am new to trout fishing, I have been using a fly rod for a variety of fish down in Texas. I am taking a trip in about a week with my father and brother to the Driftless area, specifically around Ontario. I was wondering if anyone here could point me in the right direction of some great secluded streams. Just looking for some fish to catch, not chasing trophies, so any suggestion is welcome!

I have been using some Google Earth mapping and identified Timber Coulee Creek, W Fork of the Kickapoo River, and Weister Creek as some candidates. Please let me know if I'm looking in the right area. Thanks in advance for any help
lightningo2
#2 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2016 2:17:05 AM

tmhoff you are definitely on the right track. Pretty much any stream in the entire Driftless area is a gem. If it has flowing water it will hold trout. Pick some more streams and go exploring. A 3wt or 4wt fly rod is all you will need! This time of year think grasshoppers, ants, beetles, and big bugs as the morning progresses.And most importantly Have Fun!. Stop by the Driftless Angler in Viroqua and talk to Mat. He will hook you up.
P.S. pick up some Hippy Stompers Smile
hougie
#3 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2016 2:29:05 PM