Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
SenatorGrimmshaw  
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 27, 2017 7:51:10 AM(UTC)
SenatorGrimmshaw

Hello All,

I've got a coworker who's 12 year old son wants a fly rod for his birthday coming up next month, so he asked me for advice. It sounds like he will mostly be using it for targeting bass in the Milwaukee River. My initial thoughts were a 5WT would probably be just fine, but I don't know if a 9ft rod would be too cumbersome. I'm thinking it may be awkward at first but he would probably grow into it pretty quick? I have no experience in this department, so I figured I'd throw it out there for some DTA advice. If anybody has a recommendation for a good starter combo for a kid this age, I would really appreciate the input to pass along and get this dude set up and ready to rip this summer.
Sponsor
wannaseemysexdungeon  
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 27, 2017 11:22:53 AM(UTC)
wannaseemysexdungeon

I started out about 13 with a 9 foot rod. Wouldn't change it. All the extra room you have to mess up your false casts and recover with a long rod really helps the learning curve. Plus harder to hook yourself with the loops higher up. Extra casting distance with the 9' too. Not a fan of a 5 wt for bass, more of a 7 or 8wt kinda guy, easier to turn over big bugs and turn fish. To each his own though.

A good combo for kids is the Cabelas 3 Forks combo. Line, rod, reel, all for under $100 bucks when it goes on sale. Plus it has a warranty for a few years. Hard to beat for the price. Kids like to break things for some reason...
My fly box is a tree
NDFlatlander  
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 27, 2017 1:14:35 PM(UTC)
NDFlatlander

Man

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)