Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest Active Topics | Log In | Register

3 Pages 123>
Conflicting Interests Options
stan b
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 8:36:59 PM

What are your thoughts on this?

http://www.jsonline.com/...t-one-another/380722001/
"So what is big is not always the Trout nor the Deer but the chance, the being there. And what is full is not necessarily the creel nor the freezer, but the memory." ~ Aldo Leopold
weiliwen
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 04, 2017 9:39:59 PM

I'll start.

I used to work in the wind industry. The biggest limiting factor for wind energy is not finding places to put wind turbines (please, not windmills - they don't mill anything), but transmission lines. The national transmission grid system is the most wildly disorganized - perhaps I should say decentralized - piece of infrastructure in the USA. Places that are great for wind energy - Iowa and southern Minnesota are there, but the entire "flat" part of the Midwest - are sometimes far removed from current transmission lines. The Dakotas and Montana come to mind. There are some there, but not nearly enough leading to places where the energy is used to realize the potential .

There's going to be a fair amount of NIMBY going on here, and I understand that. If you're near enough, you can hear them crackle, and if you walk underneath with a fluorescent lightbulb, it will glow on its own. "They" say there's not effect on humans, but if there's enough electricity to make a lightbulb glow, it is reasonable to ask if it can affect life; studies on this are few and actively discouraged by Big Energy.