Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
William Schlafer  
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 2:11:36 AM(UTC)
William Schlafer

Was thanked: 81 time(s) in 68 post(s)
The stars finally aligned today to allow me to get out for my first fishing trip of 2018. I decided to return to the same stream I finished on the final day last season, a tradition I've been doing for a few years now.

I was surprised to find the stream a bit silted in places. Some of the deeper holes and runs were now defiantly shallower than it was last fall. I guess the creek needs some spring gully washers to flush some of that sediment out. But the water flow today was good and running pretty clear. There was no wind and with the sun warming things up I could fish with just a sweater and a baseball cap. I even ditched the gloves after awhile.
UserPostedImage

I started with a small leech pattern I tied just last week and immediately starting getting hits. Small streamers were definitely the ticket today, everything else I tried was ignored. I also saw a few risers, but didn't carry any dry flies in my vest this trip.
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage

And then, A Tiger! I had caught one here last fall on my last day in this same creek, but about 1/2 mile further downstream. It couldn't be the same one, could it???
UserPostedImage

I believe it is the same fish - 99 days apart! Pretty amazing. He looks a little thinner than last fall, but is still sporting those bright colors. He fought furiously, just like he did last fall. I can't wait for him to get bigger and catch him again later this summer.