Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
FisherMan  
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2018 2:56:08 AM(UTC)
FisherMan

I’m new to trout fishing and currently own a fishpond sling pack. I really like it, as it holds everything That I need for fishing for gills and bass. I’ve been thinking about getting a vest, but not sure that I would like it as much as the sling pack. I’ve only fished for trout once, but I’m hooked.... I will be making a lot of trips to Iowa and Wisconsin next summer. Any help would be greatly appreciated.....
Sponsor
weiliwen  
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2018 2:24:36 PM(UTC)
weiliwen

Man
United States

Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 24 post(s)
Hi FisherMan,

First, thanks for posting on the New Member Introduction - that's the way to do it! Lots of Illini on these pages, even those most are lurkers. I live in a northern Chicago suburb myself, but spend weekdays up in Madison, where I work.

Now, to your question. I'd say opinion will be split; but I personally like vests. Maybe just because I'm getting older and not in great shape, so I rarely am away from my car more than 4 hours and don't need large capacity. I use a vest because I'm also left-handed, and I haven't yet found a LH sling; although some profess to be unidirectional, they seem to me to really fit neither side well. I can pop a bottle of water and a snack in the back of my vest without a problem.

That said, my vest is about at the end of its lifespan, and I may re-consider.
Bob Williams, "Weiliwen"
NBrevitz  
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2018 7:49:33 PM(UTC)
NBrevitz

Man

Was thanked: 35 time(s) in 30 post(s)