Driftless Trout Anglers

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
shaneb  
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2019 10:16:57 PM(UTC)
shaneb

United States

Hi guys. I'm relatively new to fly fishing and the driftless area. So far I've only been nymphing on the Kinni and the Rush, and I want to start branching out and finding new locations. I have a 9' 5-wt rod, so I'm looking for new spots that have a little space for casting, at least until I get better at it in tight quarters.

Now I know better than to ask for fishing spots in particular. Instead I was hoping you guys could verify my approach to finding trout streams:

Right now I use the WI DNR's trout stream map to find Class I or Class II trout streams as a start (Pierce and St. Croix counties mostly). I then rule out streams that got too much rainfall. (If only all streams had USGS monitoring stations like the Kinni!) I'll then use Google Maps to see a satellite view and plan my routes upstream.

Unfortunately, I too often end up picking spots with unexpectedly deep water and/or too much brush, making it hard to navigate upstream or not get my flies caught on plants all the time! It's definitely frustrating as a beginner given that it takes me at least an hour to drive to a location. One time I drove all the way to a spot, only to be thwarted by deep water on one end and barbed wire on the other! It's also hard to tell to if I'm in a good spot until I get a decent ways upstream, and by then it's hard to drive somewhere else.

Is there a set of guidelines/tips I should be following for a beginner in my situation? (streams at least 15' wide, public easements, nearby walking trails..etc?) This forum has already provided me with a wealth of information, but any extra advice would be highly appreciated. Thank you!

Sponsor
NBrevitz  
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2019 11:13:26 PM(UTC)
NBrevitz

Man